Menü Menü
Master of Music - Wind Instruments

Master of Music - Wind Instruments

The Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln offers the Master of Music-Program for Wind Instruments.

In this study programm you can study one of the following instruments: 

  • Bugle
  • Trombone
  • Trumpet
  • Tuba
  • Bassoon
  • Clarinet
  • Oboe
  • Flute
  • Saxophone

General Information

  • Academic degree: Master of Music
  • Duration of degree program: 4 semesters 
  • Start of program: Winter semester
  • Degree requirements: 120 ECTS credits
  • Major: Woodwind instruments
  • Graduate program: Concert Exam

The application takes place online via the muvac platform. You can find all the information about the procedure on our Application page.

Admission Requirements

  • Proof of having successfully completed a four-year Bachelor’s Degree in the subject that the candidate intends to pursue at Master’s level.
  • For non-German-speaking applicants, proof of a language certificate at level A2 (based on the European Reference Framework for Languages) is also required.
  • Successful completion of the entrance examination.

Entrance examination

The entrance examination consists of a practical performance test in the candidate’s main subject.

Detailed information can be found in the relevant portions of the Entrance Examination Regulations.


The degree programme Master of Music - Wind Instruments is divided into the following modules:  

  1. Core module;
  2. Practical performance in context;
  3. Elective module;
  4. Master’s thesis/project

In the first two modules, the course concentrates exclusively on developing the student’s instrumental skills as a soloist. Through an elective module – which can be chosen from the entire range of courses offered at the University – students are able to further develop their professional profile. The final Master’s project concludes the programme.



  • Prof. Urban Agnas, Trompete
  • Prof. Anna Freeman, Trompete (Standort Aachen)
  • Prof. Ulrich Flad, Posaune
  • Prof. Paul van Zelm, Horn

Künstlerische Mitarbeiter*innen

  • Florian Kirner, Trompete
  • Prof. Hans Nickel, Tuba
  • Cyrill Sandoz, Trompete (Standort Wuppertal)
  • Matthias Kiefer, Kammermusik für Blechbläser
  • Peter Stuhec, Posaune (Standort Wuppertal)
  • Jan Böhme, Bassposaune (Standort Aachen)
  • Michael Junghans, Bassposaune
  • Ulrich Hübner, Horn und Naturhorn
  • Ralph Ficker, Horn (Standort Aachen)
  • Clara-Christine Hohorst, Horn (Standort Wuppertal)


  • Mio Kurihara-Wippich, Trompeten- und Posaunenklasse
  • Zeynep Artun-Kircher, Hornklasse
  • Chie Ogata, Tubaklasse
  • Keiko Yamamoto, Blechbläser Standort Aachen
  • Yuka Schneider, Blechbläser Standort Wuppertal
  • Junko Shioda, Trompetenklasse, Standort Aachen


  • Dirk Peppel, Querflöte (Wuppertal)
  • Robert Winn, Querflöte (Köln)
  • Frank Ralph Manno, Klarinette (Köln)
  • Christian Wetzel, Oboe (Köln)
  • Ulrich Hermann, Fagott (Köln)
  • Daniel Gauthier, Saxophon (Köln)

Künstlerische Mitarbeiter*innen

  • Ulrike Maria Siebler, Piccoloflöte, Querflöte (Wuppertal)
  • Thadeus Watson, Piccoloflöte (Köln)
  • Uta Linke, Piccoloflöte (Wuppertal)
  • Aldo Baerten, Querflöte (Aachen)
  • Alja Velkaverh, Querflöte (Aachen)
  • Camila Moukarzel Ortega, Querflöte (Wuppertal)
  • Jennifer Seubel, Querflöte (Köln)
  • Sally Beck, Querflöte (Köln)
  • Angelika Sheridan, Querflöte (Köln)
  • Reinhard Feneberg, Klarinette (Aachen)
  • Willfried Roth-Schmidt, Klarinette (Wuppertal)
  • Nicolai Pfeffer, Klarinette (Köln)· Christof Hilger, Klarinette (Köln)
  • Richard Smuda, Klarinette (Wuppertal)
  • Balthasar Hens, Bass-Klarinette (Köln)
  • Keita Yamamoto, Oboe (Aachen)
  • Rebekka Löw, Oboe (Köln)
  • Peter Veale, Oboe (Köln)
  • Valentino Zucchiatti, Fagott (Aachen)
  • Veikko Braeme, Fagott (Köln)
  • Monika Schumacher, Fagott (Köln)
  • Simon van Holen , Kontrafagott (Köln)
  • Andreas Baßler, Fagott (Wuppertal)
  • Sebastian Pottmeier, Saxophon (Köln)
  • Burkhard Schuchardt, Saxophon (Wuppertal)
  • Mathias Haus, Kammermusik (Sax./Ha./Sch) (Wuppertal)


  • Sergej Figliolo, Querflöteklasse 
  • Junko Shioda und Nenad Lecic, Klarinettenklasse
  • Kanade Joho, Fagottklasse